Benin Home Page

27 January 2010
Benin Home Page
Notizie Utili

The Republic of Benin is a country of Western Africa, formerly known as Dahomey.

Benin borders on the west with Togo, in the east with Nigeria, in the north with Burkina Faso and Niger, in the south there is a line that corresponds to the inlet of the coast of Benin.

From North to South, the Republic of Benin has an elongated shape with an uneven relief. In the north there are the savannas and mountains ,in the south instead there are plains with lakes, rivers and swamps like Nokoué and Porto-Novo.

The majority of the population lives in the southern Benin, where there are the largest cities such as Cotonou and Porto-Novo.

It is located in the intertropical zone,and Benin's climate is hot and humid with frequent rainfalls from April to November.

Benin is a presidential republic, the current head of state and government, is Yayi Boni, the capital is Porto-Novo, but the headquarter of government is Cotonou.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information